What is Oklahoma's Social Host Law?
The law states that if any person under 21 drinks alcohol on your property – whether you own or rent and regardless of if you’re home when it occurs – you are responsible if there is an accident. Fines start at $500 and you could be arrested.
Who is a Social Host?
Any person, adult or minor, providing a location for underage drinking.
If a minor who has been drinking alcohol at your house is injured or killed, you can be charged with a felony. That’s up to 5 years in prison and $2500 in fines.
Oklahoma’s Social Host law is also known as “Cody’s Law”, after a minor who was killed after drinking at a friend’s home. Find out more at www.oklahomasocialhost.com
Research proves it: teens who have activities that interest them are less likely to get involved with drugs and alcohol. Keeping them engaged and focused on activities that stimulate their thinking or challenge their abilities can help build confidence, give them focus, and keep their attention away from drugs and alcohol.
For a few ideas on activities and more information list @SocialHostOklahoma on Facebook.
A project of the Absentee Shawnee Tribe and SPTHB in conjunction with SAMHSA